EMBRUN – LAC DE SERRE-PONCON

JUNE 28, 2020

SPRINT | CLASSIC | HALF 

SWIMRUN EMBRUN: Three racing formats in a postcard decor!

3000 hectares of water at a loss of sight. Some even say that it is a tip of the Mediterranean that seems to have been laid in the heart of the Southern Alps. Faced with this vast expanse of turquoise blue water, which makes it the second largest artificial lake in Europe, time seems to be suspended. It is a veritable piece of paradise that you will discover at the Lac de Serre-Ponçon; Located at an altitude of 780m, it reflects in its waters the countless peaks perched at more than 2000m.
Check out the race format description below (SPRINT / CLASSIC / HALF).


A look back at the first edition that took place on June 30, 2019:

It's 5:30 in the morning, the Embrunais wakes up peacefully, the silhouette of the surrounding mountains gradually appears purple on a sky that turns from pink to blue.  The sun, meanwhile, will emerge a little later, behind one of the mountain ranges of the Parc des Écrins. Everything sets it quiet, quiet. And yet, Embrun's water body is well and truly awake, the music sounds, the speaker gives the final instructions and the starting line fills up little by little. Starting at 6:30 a.m., nearly 500 participants are preparing to set off for an extraordinary event, supported by hundreds of spectators. After a most successful edition in the Gorges du Verdon, the SWIMRUNMAN (Editor's note: alternating running like trail and open water swimming) arrives for the first time on the Serre-Ponçon Lake, from the Embrun water body. After a hot week nationwide, participants expect to get hot on running games.  However, with early departures as early as 6:30 a.m., a few degrees less on the thermometer than the previous days and water from The Serre-Ponçon Lake at 16 degrees, the weather conditions are almost optimal, like a nod to fate.

 

A successful first edition

 

For this first edition, three different courses are proposed: the SPRINT format on 10KM, the CLASSIC format, on 22KM and finally, the longest distance, on 38KM, with the HALF format, thus allowing the satisfaction of the most seasoned, as well as amateurs. This Sunday, the Swimrunners (Editor's note: the name given to swimrun practitioners) had the chance to cross four emblematic municipalities of the Embrunais: Crots, Puy-Sanières, Savines-le-Lac and of course Embrun. On arrival, all participants agreed on one point: the crossings of the lake of Serre-Ponçon, a vast body of water whose turquoise blue color recalls the Mediterranean, will remain forever etched in their minds.

Rozenberg and Soulié, head and shoulders

 

On this magnificent and challenging race, it took almost 5hours and 30 minutes of effort for the first team to cross the finish line of the HALF course, the longest distance proposed this year. After 5h23min13sec, consisting of nine swimming sections, ten running sections, and 1300m of positive gradient, it is finally the duo  Agnes ROZENBERG  /  Benjamin SOULIÉ which has made its mark, marking its mark on this first edition of the  EMbrun SWIMRUNMAN. A remarkable performance that demonstrates the mix of the swimrun since it is indeed a mixed team that wins the nose and beard of the men's teams.

 

The HALF podium is completed by Sebastien DOUET And Camille PITEL (5h28min12sec) after a stifling mano a mano with  Remy MURGUES  And  Thibault LEROUX-MALLOUF (5h28min44sec). On the other distances of the day, Robin MOUSSEL And Sebastien THE COCQ overflew the race from start to finish on the CLASSIC format (2h44min45sec) while Julien EMERY And Eric GUYADER win the sprint distance in 1:35min12sec. This sporting and friendly event remains a real challenge, open to all, where everyone must surpass themselves, draw from his limits and show extreme rigor. Throughout the race, teamwork, perseverance and solidarity were the watchwords of Swimrunners

The rendezvous is already given for 2020

In the end, the Swimrun is a true state of mind, involving surpassing oneself, helping each other and respecting the environment in which we live. The organization of such events allows to discover to the greatest number the practice of a new discipline that has been booming in recent years in France, combining swimming and running, in the heart of the most beautiful Natural Parks of France. If the date of the next edition has not yet been revealed, you can be sure of one thing: the SWIMRUNMAN will return to Embrun in June 2020. For the most impatient, the SWIMRUNMAN France team will meet you, starting on August 25th, at the Great Lakes of Laffrey (Isère), including the first VERTICAL course ever organized in the world, for an epic and unprecedented finale. Some participants will return, others will join the magnificent adventure that is the SWINRUNMAN France. How about you? Will you be FINISHER?

SPRINT SWIMRUNMAN
9.80 km

Sprint course Embrun

6.95 km RUN/2.85 km SWIM
Effort time: 1h30 to 3am

CLASSIC SWIMRUNMAN
22.45 km

swimrun shop Embrun classic course

18km RUN/4.45 km SWIM
Stress time: 3:00 am to 5:00 am

HALF SWIMRUNMAN
38.40 km

swimrun shop Embrun half course

31.70 km RUN/6.70 km SWIM
Effort time: 5.00 am to 8:00 am

The three routes, drawn in the heart of the Hautes-Alpes, will traverse the overall distances of 10km (SPRINT), 22km (CLASSIC) or 38km (HALF) The communes of Embrun, Puy-Saasnières, Crots and Savines-le-Lac. The steep trails of the spray will allow you to gain height on the Lac de Serre-Ponçon and the Durance to appreciate the moment even better. On June 28, 2020 you will be several hundred swimrunners to take on the SWIMRUN EMBRUN challenge proposed by the organization. A unique race, in an exceptional setting, that will leave each of you with a lasting memory.


Partner in Title

Zerod testing partner Swimrun Swimrunman combination

Official suppliers

Overstim's partner swimrunman France
swimrun shop swimrunman wetsuit rental

Official partners

THUASNE sport partner swimrunman
Intersport Embrun partner swimrunman

Media partners

Swimrunman Let's do this
lemon press partner

Institutional partners

Embrun partner swimrunman
SAVINES the Lake partner swimrunman
swimrunman partner
swimrunman partner
Smadesep partner SWIMRUNMAN

EMBRUN – LAC DE SERRE-PONCON

28 JUIN 2020

SPRINT | CLASSIC | HALF 

SWIMRUN EMBRUN : Trois formats de courses dans un décor de carte postale !

3000 hectares d’eau à perte de vue. Certains disent même que c’est un bout de la Méditerranée qui semble avoir été posé au coeur des Alpes du Sud. Face à cette vaste étendue d’eau bleu turquoise, qui en fait le deuxième plus grand lac artificiel d’Europe, le temps paraît comme suspendu. C’est un véritable bout de paradis que vous découvrirez au Lac de Serre-Ponçon ; situé à 780m d’altitude, il reflète dans ses eaux les innombrables sommets perchés à plus de 2000m.
Découvrez ci-dessous l descriptif des formats de course (SPRINT / CLASSIC / HALF).


Retour sur la 1ère édition qui a eu lieu le 30 juin 2019 :

Il  est  5H30  du  matin, l’Embrunais  se  réveille paisiblement, la silhouette  des  montagnes environnantes  se  dessine  peu  à  peu  en  mauve  sur  un  ciel  qui  vire  du  rose  au  bleu.  Le  soleil, quant à lui, émergera un peu plus tard, derrière l’un des massifs montagneux du Parc  des Écrins. Tout parait calme, silencieux. Et  pourtant, le plan d’eau d’Embrun est bel et bien éveillé,  la  musique  retentit,  le  speaker donne les dernières directives et la ligne de départ se remplit peu à peu. Dès 6h30, près de 500 participants  s’apprêtent  à s’élancer pour  une  épreuve  hors  du  commun, soutenus  par  des centaines de spectateurs. Après  une  édition  des  plus  réussies  dans  les  Gorges  du  Verdon,  le  SWIMRUNMAN  ( NDLR:  alternance  de  course  à  pied  type  trail  et  de  natation  en  eau  libre  )  débarque  pour  la première fois sur le lac de Serre-Ponçon, au départ du plan d’eau d’Embrun. Après une semaine caniculaire à l’échelle nationale, les participants s’attendent à avoir chaud sur  les  parties  de  course  à  pied.  Cependant,  avec  des  départs  matinaux  dès  6h30,  quelques degrés en moins au thermomètre que les jours précédents et une eau du Lac de Serre-Ponçon à 16°, les  conditions  climatiques sont  presque  optimales,  comme  un  clin  d’œil du  destin.

 

Une première édition couronnée de succès

 

Pour cette première  édition, trois parcours  différents sont proposés:  le  format  SPRINT  sur 10KM, le format CLASSIC, sur 22KM et enfin, la distance la plus longue, sur 38KM, avec le format HALF, permettant ainsi la satisfaction des plus aguerris, comme des amateurs. Ce  Dimanche,  les Swimrunners (NDLR:  nom  donné aux  pratiquants  du  swimrun) ont  eu  la chance  de  traverser quatre  communes emblématiques de l’Embrunais:  Crots,  Puy-Sanières, Savines-le-Lac et bien entendu Embrun. A l’arrivée, tous les participants s’accordaient  sur  un  point :  les traversées du  lac  de  Serre-Ponçon, vaste étendue d’eau dont la couleur bleu turquoise rappelle la Méditerranée, resteront à jamais gravées dans leurs esprits.

Rozenberg et Soulié, de la tête et des épaules

 

Sur cette course, aussi magnifique qu’éprouvante, il aura nécessité près de 5h30min d’efforts à la première équipe pour passer la ligne d’arrivée du parcours HALF, la plus longue distance proposée cette année. Après 5h23min13sec, composées de neuf sections de natation, dix de course à pied, et 1300m de  dénivelé positif, c’est finalement le  duo  Agnès  ROZENBERG  /  Benjamin SOULIÉ qui s’est imposé,  marquant  ainsi de  son  empreinte cette  première  édition  du  SWIMRUNMAN Embrun. Une performance remarquable qui démontre la mixité du swimrun puisque c’est bel et bien une équipe mixte qui l’emporte au nez et à la barbe des équipes masculines.

 

Le podium de l’HALF est complété par Sébastien DOUET et Camille PITEL (5h28min12sec) après  un mano a mano étouffant  avec  Rémy  MURGUES  et  Thibault  LEROUX-MALLOUF (5h28min44sec). Sur les autres distances de la journée, Robin MOUSSEL et Sébastien  LE COCQ ont survolé la course de bout en bout sur le format CLASSIC (2h44min45sec) tandis que Julien EMERY et Eric GUYADER raflent la mise sur la distance SPRINT en 1h35min12sec. Cet  évènement  sportif  et  convivial  reste  un  réel  défi, ouvert  à  tous, où  chacun  doit  se surpasser,  puiser  dans  ses  limites  et  faire  preuve d’une extrême rigueur. Tout au long de la course, travail d’équipe, persévérance et solidarité ont été le mot d’ordredes Swimrunners

Le Rendez-vous est déjà donné pour 2020

En  définitive,  le  Swimrun  est  un  vrai  état  d’esprit,  impliquant  le  dépassement  de  soi, l’entraide  et  le  respect  de  l’environnement  dans  lequel  on  évolue. L’organisation  de  tels évènements  permet  de  faire  découvrir au  plus  grand  nombre la  pratique  d’une  nouvelle discipline  en  plein  essor  depuis  quelques  annéesen  France,  alliant  natation  et  course  à  pied, au cœur des plus beaux Parcs Naturels de France. Si la date de la prochaine édition n’est pas encore dévoilée, vous pouvez être sûr d’une chose : le SWIMRUNMAN reviendra sur Embrun en Juin 2020. Pour les plus impatients, l’équipe SWIMRUNMAN France vous donne rendez-vous, dès le 25août prochain, aux Grands  Lacs  de  Laffrey (Isère),  avec  notamment le premier parcours VERTICAL jamais organisé au monde, pour un final épique et inédit. Certains  participants  reviendront,  d’autres  rejoindront la  magnifique  aventure  qu’est  le SWINRUNMAN France. Et vous ? Serez-vous FINISHER ?

SPRINT SWIMRUNMAN
9.80km

parcours sprint embrun

6.95km RUN  / 2.85km SWIM
Temps d’effort : 1h30 à 3h00

CLASSIC SWIMRUNMAN
22.45km

swimrun embrun parcours classic

18km RUN  / 4.45km SWIM
Temps d’effort : 3h00 à 5h00

HALF SWIMRUNMAN
38.40km

parcours swimrun embrun half

31.70km RUN  / 6.70km SWIM
Temps d’effort : 5h00 à 8h00

Les trois parcours, tracés au coeur des Hautes-Alpes, traverseront sur des distances globales de 10km (SPRINT), 22km (CLASSIC) ou 38km (HALF) les communes d’Embrun, Puy-Sanières, Crots et Savines-le-Lac. Les sentiers abrupts de l’Embrunais permettront de prendre de la hauteur sur le Lac de Serre-Ponçon et la Durance pour encore mieux apprécier l’instant. Le 28 Juin 2020 vous serez plusieurs centaines de swimrunners à partir à l’assaut du défi SWIMRUN EMBRUN proposé par l’organisation. Une course unique, dans un cadre exceptionnel, qui laissera à chacun d’entre vous un souvenir impérissable.


Partenaire en titre

zerod testing partenaire swimrun swimrunman combinaison

Fournisseurs officiels

Overstim's partenaire swimrunman france
location combinaison swimrun swimrunman

Partenaires officiels

thuasne sport partenaire swimrunman
Intersport embrun partenaire swimrunman

Partenaires médias

swimrunman let's do this
presse citron partenaire

Partenaires institutionnels

Embrun partenaire swimrunman
Savines le lac partenaire swimrunman
partenaire swimrunman
partenaire swimrunman
Smadesep partenaire SWIMRUNMAN